2023 Speakers and Topics

2023 Speaker Series

January  2023

Esther Erman
Thursday, January 19, 2023
Salerno: A Beacon of Light During Dark Times

Catherine A. Accardi
Thursday, January 26, 2023
100 Years of Italian Heritage–San Francisco Style

February  2023

Susanna Lombardi
Thursday, February 9, 2023
S Donatello: Master Sculptor of the Early Renaissance

Tricia Grame, PhD
Thursday, February 16, 2023
The Evolving Female Symbol and Image in the History of Art

Lisa Pieraccini, PhD
Thursday, February 16, 2023
Colonization and Indigeneity: Etruscan Pasts and Native American Futures

March 2023

Ron Fenolio
Thursday, March 2, 2023
Tasting the Wines of Calabria and Puglia

Karen Haid
Thursday, March 9, 2023
Calabria: The Other Italy

Panel Discussion
Thursday, March 16, 2023
Making Wine at Home
Antonio Ventresco, Dave Buchanan and Cenacolista Chris Gull

Carla Gambescia
Thursday, March 23, 2023
Antiquity: Alive and Well! A “La Dolce Vita U” Trivia Challenge

Pietro Buttitta
Thursday, March 30, 2023
ABeing a Small Wine Producer in a Big Wine Industry State

April  2023

Emma Chappell
Thursday, April 6, 2023
Finding My Italian Roots

Lawrence Tartaglino
Thursday, April 20, 2023
Italians: Who are we?

Lorri Ungaretti
Thursday, April 27, 2023
The Crystal Palace Market of San Francisco

May  2023

Rex Allen
Thursday, May 4, 2023
Big Bands Yesterday and Today

Barry A. Goodfield, PhD
Thursday, May 11, 2023
The Boy Who Started Fire with his Eyes

William H.G. Norman
Thursday, May 18, 2023
What Do 21st Century Physicists Say About Our Cosmological Origins?

Robert Heggie
Thursday, May 25, 2023
The New World of Retail

June  2023

Kip Cranna, Bianca Friundi
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Bravo: Celebrating San Francisco Opera—Its Italian Roots and Legacy

Elaine Ruffolo
Thursday, June 8, 2023
The Medici and Renaissance Florence

Lorri Ungaretti
Thursday, June 22, 2023
Vanishing San Francisco

Ron Fenolio
Thursday, June 29, 2023
Tasting the Wines of Central Italy

July  2023

Lisa Sciandra
Thursday, July 6, 2023
Living the Italian American Dream: Into the Open Arms of Family in Italy

David Cobb
Thursday, July 13, 2023
Bringing Enid Home: My mother’s brief life story, burial in Napoli, my love of Italy, and her return to my father’s side in Annapolis

David Cobb
Thursday, July 20, 2023
Villa San Michele: From Tiberius to Doctor Munthe, minus a few centuries

September  2023

Ron Fenolio
Thursday, September 21, 2023
The Unique Wines of Punta Crena

October  2023

Kip Krana
Thursday, October 5, 2023
San Francisco Opera Celebrates 100 Years

November  2023

Carla Gambescia
Thursday, November 2, 2023
The Three Chapels That Changed Art History

December  2023

Skip Bushee
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Travel in Ethiopia